News & Press: Members in the News

Andrea Burke, DMD, MD, Named 2020 ACOMS Elaine A. Stuebner Scholar

Thursday, January 30, 2020   (0 Comments)
Share |

Andrea Burke, DMD, MD has been selected to receive the fourth annual Elaine A. Stuebner Scholars Award by the American College of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (ACOMS). 

The ACOMS Elaine A. Stuebner Scholars Award is an essay-based competition that awards one female oral and maxillofacial surgeon annually the opportunity to attend a post-educational meeting to advance her knowledge and skills. The program aims to engage award recipients with other women mentors in the specialty throughout their careers to learn, to mentor in-turn, and to perpetuate the cycle. The prize is a scholarship award up to $5,000 in value that includes meeting registration, travel, and lodging at a scientific meeting organized by ACOMS. The award fund is made possible by sustaining sponsors Biohorizons, Instradent, KLS Martin Group, and Straumann, along with the generous support of individual members of the College.

This year’s essay contest prompted participants to answer the question, How would you design a community outreach or marketing campaign to encourage females to consider a career in oral and maxillofacial surgery?” The award committee chose Dr. Burke’s essay for its detail, thoughtfulness, and rich ideas. The essay can be found here.

Dr. Burke is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the University of Washington School of Dentistry. She completed her training at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, MA, and obtained her DMD and MD degrees from Harvard University. She then went on to study bone biology as a Clinical Research Fellow at the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, in Bethesda, MD. She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and practices the full scope of oral and maxillofacial surgery, with a special interest in rare skeletal diseases. She was recently awarded the AAOMS Faculty Educator Development Award and the OMS Foundation Steven B. Milam Award for her research on quality of life and stigma in craniofacial fibrous dysplasia.

To learn more about the Elaine A. Stuebner Scholars Award, click here.