News & Press: General

2018 Elaine A. Stuebner Award Winner

Thursday, February 22, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |
ACOMS Bestows Elaine A. Stuebner Scholars Award to Suganya Appugounder, DMD, MS.

The ACOMS Stuebner Scholarship is an essay-based competition that awards one board certified female oral and maxillofacial surgeon annually the opportunity to attend a post-educational meeting to advance her knowledge and skills. The award provides the recipient an opportunity to meet with mentors in the specialty and to become involved in a lifelong learning process to stay well-informed and focused as a surgeon. The program aims to enable award recipients to become and remain engaged with other women mentors in the specialty throughout their careers to learn, to mentor in-turn, and to perpetuate the cycle.

The prize is a scholarship award up to $5,000 in value that includes meeting registration, travel, and lodging at a scientific meeting organized by ACOMS. The award fund is made possible by founding sponsors KLS Martin Group, Straumann, Instradent, and the generous support of members of the College.

This year’s essay contest prompted participants to write about a female leader, past or present, with whom they would want to spend an hour. Dr. Appugounder’s submission detailed the rich history of Marie Curie and was chosen for her use of storytelling to convey the importance of female role models in scientific and surgical fields.

Dr. Appugounder is currently completing a pediatric craniofacial fellowship at the  University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine. She is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the University of Minnesota Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, a private practice oral and maxillofacial surgeon at Metro Dentalcare in Burnsville, Minnesota, and a Major in the US Army Reserves. She earned her dental degree from Boston University and completed her oral and maxillofacial surgery residency at Yale School of Medicine in 2014. She became certified by the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery in 2016.

To learn more about the Elaine A. Stuebner Scholars Award, click here.